Mind vs Body

The clock strikes midnight
My mind is racing at 1000mph
The engine is chugging with the same beat
Worry worry worry
I lie in bed and think to myself
What does my future holds
Has it already been written
Or is it a blank page waiting to be filled
The thoughts are now jumping from subject to subject
As time ticks on the thoughts become more random
My body it screams to my mind ‘Why won’t you let me rest’
It yearns for rest
Yet my mind craves activity
The battle between mind and body ensues
Each determined to have control
Zzz that is the sound of victory
It is a hollow victory for the body
As the battle will resume the next night

Leave a Reply

