Addictions

Injection

‘Buzz Buzz’ the sound awakens me from the slumber of my sleep. I’m sure many of you have been awoken by this sound. The sound isn’t my alarm, it’s a notification from one of my social media apps. This sound is my addiction.

Now you might feel that addiction is a strong word, I mean it’s only checking your phone right?? This is what we tell ourselves to comfort ourselves from the truth, as we normally relate the word addiction to other activities. Activities such as smoking cigarettes or consuming drugs.

I feel as though this is why we need to take a step back and look at the definition of the word. Dictionary.com defines addiction as ‘the state of being enslaved to a habit’.

Now think to yourselves do you wake in the morning or during the day check your FaceBook, Twitter, Snapchat, Instagram without even thinking twice. Checking to see whether you’ve been tagged in something or someone has replied to your tweet. I know I do and this has sort of become something of a second nature to me. I do this without even realising that I’m doing it. I find that I have to check these apps. I have tried many a time to ditch this routine but it is hard. Yes, the old ‘it is hard’. The amount of times I’ve heard smokers or drinkers say this. I used to scoff at them thinking ‘How hard can it be’. But I suppose each person has that one habit that they find hard to overcome and this has become one of my challenges.

 

Leave a Reply

